STATE OF TEXAS

#### GILMER INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT λ

#### COUNTY OF UPSHUR $\lambda$

The Board of Trustees of Gilmer Independent School District met in regular session on Monday, February 18, 2019, at 6:00 PM at the Gilmer ISD Administration Building, 500 S. Trinity, Gilmer, Texas.

### **Board members present:**

**Members absent:** 

Mark Skinner, presiding Gloria King Clayton Tefteller Lula Johnson Kenny Southwell

λ

Diedra Camp

Also present were Rick Albritton, Ann Bradshaw, administrators and interested citizens

CALL TO ORDER: Mr. Skinner at 6:00 pm

**INVOCATION**:Mr. Kenny Southwell

**PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**: Staff Sergeant Rambo

<u>PUBLIC COMMENTS/AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION</u>: Joel Murry expressed concerns in regard to the District of Innovation.

# **GILMER "PRIDE" AWARDS:**

Pride Awards presented to Staff Sergeant Rambo, Holly LaGrone, Ezmi Espinoza, and Lia Espinoza.

## **SUPERINTENDENT REPORTS:**

- A. Community Eligibility Program
- B. Update on New High School Construction

### **CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:**

- A. Minutes of the regular January 22, 2019 meeting of the Board.
- B. Financial and tax collection reports
- C. Budget Amendments
- D. Quarterly Investment Reports
- E. Joint election agreements with the City of Gilmer and Upshur County
- F. Out of State Trip for the Bruce Junior High Band
- G. Out of State Trip for the High School Band

Motion was made by Ms. Lula Johnson and seconded by Mr. Kenny Southwell to approve consent agenda items "A-G", in their entirety. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes. (Info on file)

# **REGULAR AGENDA ITEMS:**

### TASB POLICY UPDATE 112, AFFECTING LOCAL POLICIES (SEE ATTACHED LIST):

Motion was made by Mr. Kenny Southwell and seconded by Mr. Clayton Tefteller to add, revise, or delete TASB-initiated (LOCAL) policies as recommended by TASB Policy Service and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 112. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes. (Info on file)

- 1. BJA(LOCAL): Superintendent- Qualifications and Duties
- 2. CCG(LOCAL): Local Revenue Sources -Ad Valorem Taxes
- 3. CCGA(LOCAL): Ad Valorem Taxes Exemptions and Payments
- 4. CH(LOCAL): Purchasing and Acquisition

- 5. CQ(LOCAL): Technology Resources
- 6. CV(LOCAL): Facilities Construction
- 7. DCB(LOCAL): Employment Practices Term Contracts
- 8. DH(LOCAL): Employee Standards of Conduct
- 9. DIA(LOCAL): Employee Welfare Freedom From Discrimination, Harassment, and Retaliation
- 10. FMA(LOCAL): Student Activities School-Sponsored Publications
- 11. FNG(LOCAL): Student Rights and Responsibilities Student and Parent Complaints/Grievances
- 12. GF(LOCAL): Public Complaints
- 13. GKA(LOCAL): Community Relations Conduct on School Premises
- 14. GKB(LOCAL): Community Relations -Advertising and Fundraising

### STAFFING REQUIREMENTS FOR 2018-2019

**EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED)**: The Board of Trustees entered Executive Session (Closed) according to TEC 551.074 (Personnel Matters) on Monday, February 18, 2019, at 6:29 p.m. Executive Session (Closed) ended at 6:49 p.m., February 18, 2019, for consideration of the following:

- 1. Consider personnel matters (appointments, leaves, reassignments, resignations, retirements, terminations, termination of probationary contracts, contract extensions)
- 2. Superintendent Evaluation and Contract Extension

### **ACTION FOLLOWING CLOSED SESSION:**

Motion was made by Ms. Lula Johnson and seconded by Mr. Kenny Southwell to accept the contract recommendations for administrators and professional support staff for the 2019-2020 school year and accept the Letter of Agreement for the school year 2018-2019 for Certified Teacher as presented by the Superintendent. Motion carried with 5 ayes and no noes. The following were presented:

**2018-2019** Andrew Ireland

2019-2020

LastName	FirstName	2019 Recommendation	
BARNES	ADRA	Term	
BARTON	JOSH	Term	
GRIMES - BOBO	BEVERLY	Term - Non Chapt 21	
BOWMAN	BRIAN	2 yr Term	
BRADSHAW	BILL	2 yr Term	
CUNNINGHAM	JASMINE	Term	
DAVIS	JERRY	Term - Non Chapt 21	
GODSEY	WES	Term	
HAMILTON	JEFFREY	Term	
HARRELL	CHARLYN	Term - 50%	
HARRIS	DAWN	2 yr Term	
HOFFPAUER	JESSICA	Term	
IVEY	RUSSELL	Term - Non Chapt 21	
JONES	ROBERTA	Term - Non Chapt 21	
KEMP	KIM	2 yr Term	
KILLABREW	LISA	Term	
RUCKER	JENNIFER	Term	
TATUM	TROY	Term	
TREADWAY	GINA	2 yr Term	
TURNER	MATT	3 yr Term	
WALL	DELINDA	Term	
WATSON	GREGORY	3 yr Term	
YORK	STEPHEN	Term - Non Chapt 21	

LastName	FirstName	2019 Recommendation
ALBRITTON	ABIGAIL	NON-CHAPTER 21 - 33%
BOYKINS	CECELIA	Term
BRANCH	EMILY	Term
DEAN	MARY	Term
ECHOLS	APRIL	Term
ERICKSON	LEAH	Term
GILBERT	SUSAN	Term
HELFERS	JESSICA	Term
HINSLEY	SHANNON	Prob1
HOLYFIELD	KAREN	NON-CHAPTER 21
JORDAN	WENDI	Term
MASSEY	BUFFY	Term
NOLAN	MARY	Term
SMITH	LISA	Term
SPEARMAN	VICKIE	Term
THOMAS	DIANE	Term
THOMAS	JASON	Term
YOUNGBLOOD	DONNA	Term

**ADJOURNMENT**: The Board meeting adjourned at 6:50 PM.

By:		By:	
•	Mark Skinner, Board President	Gloria King, Secretary	